Wardrobe Wednesday #13, Make My Week #13 and Mad Men Challenge #2

Here I am again with a triple post! This is my second offering as part of adorable Julia’s Mad Men Challenge (click the button on the side for more info).

This is my version of the ‘wiggle dress’ which seems to feature prominently in the series and also heavily inspired by the Joan ‘va-va -voom’ Holloway character – who has a seriously womanly figure.

When I made this dress I added quite a lot in the bust department (about 2 sizes worth) but when I finished it my ‘cup was running over’, if you know what I mean!! So I added in the pleated section along the neckline in the reverse of the fabric.

To stop it being too dated looking I added the exposed zip on the back and used more modern jewellery.

The fabric is the same old curtain I used for the top of my other mad men dress. I do love this colour. I also added in the blue velvet ribbon as a little bit of detail and ……I did a blind hem (my mother will be so proud).

Teamed up with:

Earrings – Budapest on our 5th wedding anniversary, Necklace – Trade Aid, Rings – D/K c/o- my sis, Greek inscription ring I designed and The Atlas got made for our 2nd anniversary, Shoes – TKmaxx in the UK.

Pop over and see what other people are wearing at Nin’s the theme for March is Homemade!

Also linking in on Thursday with other Creative Spaces

16 responses

  1. Absolutely gorgeous Miriam – your sewing skills / ability is AMAZING!
    LOVE this dress
    LOVE the colour in your wardrobe (she types as she’s wearing black ‘again’)
    LOVE LOVE LOVE

  2. Very glam! Finishing excellent! Well done with that blind hem.

  3. Vah vah vah voooooom! I’d be surprised if get out of the house with this on! And now a girly comment: you look very trim in this dress, as well as sexy.

    1. “if YOU get out of the house” :-|

  4. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! Love the colour, and I swear that this pattern is made for you – it is so flattering!

  5. All of the above. I must admit that when you popped in to see me a couple of people commented on your lovely dress and wondered if I had it in my range !!

  6. WOW! Seriously, you look GORGEOUS!!! Love the colour, love the style, love that you updated the pattern to make it yours. Stunning, stunning stunning!

  7. As usual you look fantastic, I need to make a dress like that. Time to do some pattern perusing from my stash; though I do have a wiggle type dress that I should see if I fit for next Wednesday (if it’s warm enough)

  8. The internet ate my comment :(. You look fantastic as usual; might have to see if I can fit into my wiggle dress next week, if it’s warm enough. Same colour, different style to yours, also handmade.

  9. Love, love, love AGAIN…

  10. …sigh…. i sooooo wish my cup would runneth over!! I’m afraid i’d be so proud i’d probably let be on show for a while hehehe… gorgeous solution to the ‘problem’ tho! Love the color too. you are so talented x x x

  11. You are gorgeous! Perhaps I’ve said this before? And I’ll say it again: you are gorgeous! Love everything about this dress. I hope I look as sassy as you when my kids are the same age as yours! (Gives me a little time, you see!)

  12. Wow! You look HOT! :)

  13. This has to be my favourite so far! Gorgeous colour on you… and the style is so flattering… love the pleated detail, it was a nice fix. Inspiring… must get my a into g and get out my machine :)

  14. Lovely, lovely dress! It looks great and the details are fabulous! This dress challenge reveal has almost been as exciting as the Season Five Premier! It was such fun participating!

  15. Fabulous dress! Perfectly wonderful details and so flattering! Hasn’ this been such a fun sew-along? The reveal is almost as exciting as waiting for the Season 5 Premier of Mad Men!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

