Day 35

Make, Give, Contribute, Challenge. 1 year, 100 creative challenges. 10/100 complete.

Today was a day of firsts for me. The first time I have ever made pasta (and probably the last), first time making pesto and first time making lamingtons.

Tonight’s recipe was ‘Mushroom and Bacon Fettucine’ p58 this required the creation of ‘Pesto’ p90 and ‘Personalised Pasta’ p58 . The mushroom and bacon sauce was easy to put together and really tasty. The pasta was a different story. If massive saving s are appealing (it’s probably a 1/4 of the price of buying fresh stuff) and killer triceps are high on your priority list then making pasta provides you with so much for so little. However whilst I would consider myself up there on the cheapness factor and also fairly strong in the triceps this is not something I’ll be doing again. The pasta is in the ‘Weekend Entertaining’ section of the book and I can imagine it would be entertaining to watch me make this but not so entertaining to look at. It did, in its defence, taste good but it really was not a pretty fettucine like look. No beautiful ribbons of pasta for me. If you can imagine a 3yr olds effort on this sort of activity you’re getting pretty close to mine!

The pesto was super easy and fast and I can proudly say I kept the basil plant alive from Sunday until today – Thursday. This is a major feat for me. I once killed and Aloe Vera plant so I can say with great certainty green is not the colour of my thumbs.

Husband has his office morning tea tomorrow and because I see these opportunities purely as a chance to prove he has the best partner/wife/other of everyone else I have made the 3 things he was told to bring. I think I mentioned in an earlier post that I’m rather shallow and here the proof sneaks out! The ANZACs, and Afghans were pretty easy but the Lamingtons required my first entry into the world of the sponge – in this case the ‘Light As Air Sponge’. Now I am a baker at heart (and stomach) but sponges don’t spin my wheels – where is the flavour? where is the stodge? where are all the calories? However the sponges worked well I think (Masters 1 & 3 and Husband all enjoyed the offcuts). I layered them with jam and then dipped them in chocolate and coconut and whilst they have that delightful home-made wonky-ness I think they are quite professional looking.

I include them for your admiration – it’s such a shame I don’t really like them or they could be quite impressive to make for guests!

Project Runway starts here tonight so I am in for a dose of creative inspiration, I hope. Or at least the non-sporty person’s chance to criticise the refs and players from the comfort of their armchairs wearing a bad combination of ‘at home only’ clothing!

4 responses

  1. Lovely lamingtons- but I agree. What is the point of them? The afghans would be my pick.

  2. Can I have your receipe for chocolate icing for lamingtons. My 19 year old son loves baking & has been attempting lamingtons. So far we have done the raspberry ones. We used jelly then roll in coconut. I have secured a really good receipe for sponge from an old work mate. This sponge when cooked makes a good size. Let me know if you are interested in that. Thanks

  3. I dislike lamingtons! I always have. One time my intermediate was doing a lamington fundraiser, I couldn’t bear to sell any of them!

  4. Hi Chrissy, I used the recipe from the Edmonds for the icing. I made it in a deep bowl and rolled them using 2 forks then straight into the coconut. The icing was runny enough to stick easily but didn’t seem to soak into the coconut too much.
    Recipe: 2Tbs of cocoa dissolved in 6 Tbs of boiling water. Combine with 25g of melted butter then sift in 2 and 1/4 cups of icing sugar and 1/4 tsp of vanilla essence – mix well. I’m impressed you did the jelly ones that sounds complicated!

Leave a Reply

