Day 78 & 79

Make, Give, Contribute, Challenge. 1 year, 100 creative challenges. 22/100 complete.

Today is a celebration of things pretty – fabric and buttons.

What's Not to Love?

I have decided, with a little guidance, to collect buttons. Challenge 45 required me to start collecting something I loved. I have something of a skill for the accumulation of things and whilst there was competition from cake stands and little jugs I have settled on buttons. The lovely thing about buttons is I can use them on things as well. I started the official collection by purchasing 2 wooden buttons featuring maple leaves.

The First Official Button

I’ll still have open arms for cake stands and jugs but right now ‘I collect buttons!’ Just like that.

Beautiful, Beautiful

Yesterday I made the ‘Seared Beef with Mustard Crust’ which was a little seared and not quite brown enough for this mama and her family so it got a little extra cooking – sorry Sophie! It was a lovely meal though and in attendance some special family members – always a treat to eat with others and something we don’t do enough.

I also made another batch of homemade ice-cream and the ‘Ganache’ which we used, and shared, as a chocolate fondue with bananas and marshmallows. Delicious!

And just in case you need a little more button loving…

My quote of the week comes from Master 3 who was eating homemade yoghurt the other day and said ‘It makes me smile in my mouth’. I think he’s growing up for a career in food writing!

Tonight I am seriously committed to making some real inroads on the charity quilt – it must be done!

4 responses

  1. Love the new blog header, you just can’t go wrong with buttons 🙂

  2. where do you find those beautiful fabrics!?? I’m wanting to make some things for MIlly this winter but really struggling to find fabric thats not kack!

    1. The quilting section seems to be the place for beautiful cotton fabrics. It’s not that cheap but I usually by on sale and you don’t need a lot for little people. Tga – isn’t really seething with fabric shop options though…

Leave a Reply

