Muffins In the Oven

40/100 complete

Today I completed 2 more challenges. First of all Challenge 2 – to send a collection of random things to someone. Now of course I don’t want to spoil the surprise so I’ll post about the contents of the package when I know it has arrived.

I also completed Challenge 71 – to create a recipe. This is one I have played around a bit with over the past year but today I formally decided to make it ‘my’ recipe. I have to acknowledge Simon and Alison Holst though for the basics from which to start any recipe and the idea of using pumpkin in muffins. I’m calling this mine but I’m certainly using a serious leg-up!

My recipe is Pumpkin and Dark Chocolate Muffins. I can assure you that husband who does not love pumpkin thinks these are great. They are sort of nutty and spicy and chocolatey but not overwhelmingly so. (Not that I have a problem with too much gooey chocolate action but I do know others who prefer their chocolate subtle)

Pumpkin and Dark Chocolate Muffins

Here is the recipe incase you are inspired:

1 c mashed pumpkin

1/2 c milk

1 egg

100 g melted butter

1tsp vanilla essence

2 c plain flour

4tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp mixed spice

1 c brown sugar (brown sugar is awesome!)

1/2-1 cup dark chocolate chips or chocolate broken up

Mix pumpkin, egg, milk, butter and vanilla thoroughly in one bowl.

In a separate bowl mix/whisk flour, spices, sugar, baking powder and dark chocolate. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together without beating them to a frenzy (muffins require little mixing but obviously you don’t want chunks of flour). Put into muffins tins (normal size) and bake for about 15mins at 210 degrees C. If you aren’t sure if they are ready pull one out and eat it! Don’t burn your tongue  though you won’t be able to enjoy the other 11 with a burnt tongue!

I’m hoping the weather is okay tomorrow I want to show you Master 1’s new quilt. It’s pretty awesome! Today I also sent away my giveaway. Fun, fun, fun.

5 responses

  1. thanks for sharing the muffin resipe , it sounds yummy .. its a good thing im going shopping tomorrow i can pic up the ingredients and give it ago 🙂
    and fingers crossed for good weather 🙂

  2. These look just my style – comfort food with a bit of chocolate yum. We have discovered that Pumpkin is a natural preserver as when we put it in our home made bread the bread keeps for longer than our normal home made bread. So these muffins should keep well too – bonus!
    Thanks I’ll give these a try… Annette

  3. Nice work. I didn’t know that about pumpkins. I love pumpkins!! I look forward to hearing how they go ladies! x

  4. sounds interesting – might have to go buy a pumpkin today!

  5. Wow, I’m so impressed with your list of challenges!! Fabulous idea. Enjoy ticking them all off.

Leave a Reply

