And So We Baked

41/100 complete

The weather here is wintery. Rain, flooding, rain and a bit of an icy blast thrown in for good measure. The perfect day for baking with 2 small people.

Carrying on with the recipe inventing here are 2 more delights for you. Cheesy Pumpkin Scones, and Cinnamon, Apple and Date Pinwheel Scones.

The pumpkin scone recipe comes originally from my delightful friend Ange. She invented this recipe when we both had a bit of a pumpkin obsession (we ended up with Carotene poisoning – which means you look like you fake tan!). At the time I was a little more focussed on my waistline so they were low in fat. However – time changes things! So this is Ange’s recipe with a couple of omissions and some cheesy additions!

This recipe is so good. It tastes kind of buttery and eggy but still maintains a scone consistency. It is way better than savoury muffins in my opinion and let’s face it my opinion rules this blog!

Pumpkin Scones

Ange and Miri’s Pumpkin Obsession Scones:

3 c plain flour

6 tsp baking powder

1 and 1/2 Tbs of decent curry powder (I’m not checking but that super yellow curry powder reminds me of the scotch eggs we made in intermediate home ec – gross!)

A pinch of salt.

2-3 c mashed pumpkin

grated cheese – about a cup or so depending on how cheesy you like them

Milk to bind the ingredients

Sift the dry ingredients, Add the pumpkin and cheese. Use the milk to form a dough that holds together but is pretty sticky. Pat the dough into a squarish shape on a floured bench. Cut it into squares ours made 12 but you might like monsters or minis.

Bake it for about 15mins in a hot oven – just over 200 degrees C seems to work.

Take them out when they are risen, and darker on the top. Wait for as long as your self-control holds out then get in amongst! They are great warm but if they’re cold you might want to add butter.

A word about scones – and this is the bit where I feel like Aunt Betty or someone similar. Apparently scones are best made fast and placed into a hot rising oven. Which means turn the oven on before you start but if it isn’t up to temperature when they are ready to go in get them in any way.

Cinnamon, Apple and Date Pinwheel Scones:

This one is entirely my own because I didn’t look anywhere to help me get the recipe!

3c plain flour

6tsp baking powder

1/2 c white sugar

about 1 tsp cinnamon

50g butter

Milk to bind (1/2 – 1c seems about what we used)

1 apple peeled and cut in thin chunks

1/2 c of chopped dates (just use your own tastes as a guide here – I used what we had left after we all ate a whole lot while we were baking!)

1/2 c sultanas

25g melted butter

Brown Sugar to sprinkle (about 2 tsps)

Mix flour, sugar, and baking powder together. Grate the 50g of butter into it and crumble it all together with your fingers.

Mix the apples, dates, sultanas and some more cinnamon for good measure together in a separate cup/bowl.

Add the milk to the dry ingredients and make a sticky but firmish dough. Roll this out onto a floured bench. Let your 4-year-old free with a pastry brush and the melted butter. Cover one side of the rolled out dough.

Butter Boy

Sprinkle brown sugar over the butter and spread the apple, dates and sultanas over the butter and sugar. Roll it up from one long side to the other. Slice across to make pinwheels.

We put ours in a ring tin but I have made them in a cake tin, muffin tins and on a tray. (Grease them first) If you put them in a normal cake tin you will need more cooking time or the middle ones will be soggy.

Before Baking

Cook for about 15-25mins (depending on your arrangement) until they are brown on the top and cooked through. (Sometimes you have to try things to check – it’s a tough business!)

Mmmmmm

EAT!

Last night I made this top. I know not the fabric I showed you but I have made some progress on that – patience my lovelies – at least that’s what I tell myself!

New Top - bad picture

I also had the joy of discovering due to 18mth old ability my phone numbers on my mobile have disappeared….The universe is a mysterious place especially when toddlers and technology combine!

Cheers

One response

  1. Juggling Motherhood | Reply

    Wow! I’m impressed with your son’s skills…I don’t even think I know how to do that!

Leave a Reply

