Peanut Butter Making

This is for you Paisley Jade and anyone else who wants to have a go.

I buy a budget bag of peanuts with their skin on and nothing done to them. (About $5)

Then I ‘dry roast’ the peanuts until the skins go a nice dark colour and they smell nutty. They are much nicer to eat like this too. Dry roasting is just spreading them out in a roasting pan so they are 1 layer all over and roasting them say 160 degrees C or somewhere about that. You don’t need to add anything else.

Once they have cooled put some (you’ll have to judge that for yourself I’m no measurer folks!)  in the food processor – you can add salt if you like it at this point.

Get the processor going and add a little oil at a time – I used peanut oil – until it reaches a nice consistency and your required level of smoothness. It’s never going to be totally like smooth peanut butter they sell, just in case you were wondering.

Be warned you will eat more of this because it tastes SO good! You may also need to try a spoonful or so just to make sure it meets your standards.

The peanut butter will be much darker than a shop bought one because of the roasting.

Put in a jar/jars and enjoy. x

5 responses

  1. thanks for this… I am definitely going to give this a try… never thought of making my own before!

  2. oooOOOOO YUM! Can you post a pic too?? I forgot you were a peanut butter nutter!!

  3. Same recipe I use, but you can just use any old oil. I used to use peanut, but I don’t think it made much difference flavour-wise and is more expensive and higher in fat (if you care about that kind of stuff which I don’t…). Now I just use canola. I also don’t wait for them to cool, as the blending action pretty much cools them straight away.

  4. Oooooooooooo – thanks soooo much (I think – might be sorry that you told me how now!!).

  5. I was just thinking the other night (while on a protein kick) how I should have a go at making my own peanut butter! woo hoo! thanks for sharing this.
    I heard a while back that the shop brought stuff has quite alot of nasties in it, especially from imported ingredients..and I was remembering how at some supermarkets a few years back they used to have nuts on a stand and you could grind your own peanut butter and was sure it must be easy enough.

Leave a Reply

