How Do You Spell Love?

Today I decided to try to spell love the way The Atlas might like it spelt – don’t worry this is not an X rated post!

I spelt it like this B-R-E-A-D, hot cross buns to be specific, or perhaps partially-crossed buns!

Many people talk about the therapy of hand-making bread. I have been making all our bread (give or take an earthquake!) this year.

Part of me gets the therapy aspect

Another part of me doesn’t.

The part that doesn’t is the timing bit. No matter how the day is going you can guarantee the minute you get to 10 minutes of focussed kneading one of the following will happen –

a fight will break out

2 people will both want to help you (in the least helpful ways possible – think adding egg shells to the mix and the like)

someone will do poos and want their nappy changed

someone will decide they want something to drink/eat NOW

the phone will ring with a person who just wants a few minutes of your time to sell you something you would never buy on the spur of the moment, especially something you don’t want….

Favourite answer when asked ‘is this a good time for you?’ is my current classic – ‘I have 2 children under 5 (who you can usually hear fighting in the background at this moment) No time is a good time for me. Thank you’ – in a high pleasant voice before hanging up.

Back to bread – I wanted to try a sweet loaf but this was a recipe I had on hand – Sophie Gray book 2.

Hot cross buns – mildly cross/ perspiring mama! – happy children, happy Atlas!

ps – we did have a wonderful time reading stories together on the bean bag that we got at the library this morning and if I had only read all the way to the bottom of the page in the recipe book I would have seen there is a variation for fruit loaves – sigh, I am slightly nuts!

5 responses

  1. I so get you on the timing part of making bread! I have a Kenwood mixer with a dough hook. It is brilliant! Does all the kneading for you so you can be there to referee fights, change the nappies, answer the phone etc etc!

  2. I agree that there are certain moments that are universal baby/ toddler signals for chaos to ensue. In our house the phone ringing is one of these at the moment! Looks like it was worth the effort though… they look yummy!
    (Talking of yummy things, I made your peanut butter the other day… lets just say we’re not buying shop bought any more!!!)

  3. Hot cross buns are my all time favourite thing…toasted under the grill with a bit of melted butter…mmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmm! I could eat them all year round not just near Easter time!

    Was it an easy recipe to make (aside from all the distractions along the way I mean?!) Would love the recipe if you can share it 🙂

  4. Funny blog today! The boys have smiles on their faces at least! 😀

  5. Clever clogs!

Leave a Reply

