Homemade Children’s Gift Ideas and a Giveaway.

Okay so in an effort to think of more cool things I can make for children’s parties I am brainstorming and asking for your input.

And because I need to do a random act of kindness for April I will have a giveaway for one lucky commenter. Watch out for a similar post for grown up gift ideas coming soon.

These are the ideas or things I have made or might make for gifts for children’s birthdays (links to previous pics/posts):

Apron and cupcake cases

Pencil case – personalised

Baby taggy

Tutu skirt

Bed Cushion

Personalised ABCs made by one aunty for my boys – SO loved

Soft toys

Baby shoes – I want to make some this year

Leave me your ideas or a link to something you’ve seen you think I could attempt. I sew, bake, and craft but I can’t crochet and I’m not much of a knitter or artist. If it is simple enough I am prepared to give many things an attempt. I don’t follow instructions very well – I put this down to my inherent creativity rather than my lack of self-discipline. Others may disagree!

For every idea you give me I will enter you into a draw to win either a personalised pencil-case OR an apron (adult or child sized). Let me know when you enter which one you’d like.

Open for 2 weeks closing Friday April 15th – so come back and enter every time you get inspired at 3am!!

10 responses

  1. I’m loving the apron and cupcake papers idea – that would work for my 11 and 9 year old nieces too.
    I gave them fabric covered notebooks and handmade bookmarks last year for Christmas and this year I was thinking about a knitted dish/facecloth with some handmade felted soap . . . .

  2. Elizabeth Greening | Reply

    Loving the aprons – great idea. Whatabout a little mosaic heart or cross for their wall – could do in bright colours. A photo frame with some fun pictures of the child with your child – like a collage type thing. Personalised birthday card made with a photo. A fun scarf for winter. A quilt……..oops too many suggestions – you will need to be given lots of “TIME”. Keep up the creativity – I always call up your blog for inspiration 🙂

  3. Homemade soaps
    A felt board
    playdough
    crayons, recycled and melted down into cool shapes

    ok ok these are not my OWN ideas 🙂 just found a cool site so have a look here for yourself for some inspiration
    http://www.amazingmoms.com/htm/gifts_kids_make2-6.htm

  4. Hi – I hope I’m not too late on this. Just wanted to share a free baby bootie pattern (sewn) that I have used a few times, and I think it’s a great one.

    http://www.heatherbaileydesign.com/Booties.html

    Love the random act of kindness idea! x

  5. Please don’t put me in the draw since I won last time, but I thought I’d share some suggestions:

    1. I have seen lots of little girl and toddler sewing kits on various blogs recently… Look pretty cool and a great way to encourage creativity!
    2. How about making a cool belt for a little boy
    3. for girls make a quilt or clothes for their dolls (if they are into dolls)
    4. A while ago you posted about a nurses costume that you made for a wee girl. I bet any dressing up clothes would go down a treat… masks, cowboy and pirate costumes etc
    5. You could get hold of some chalk cloth and make all sorts of fun things
    Sure there are more things, but my mind’s gone blank (… nothing new there!)

  6. […] Crafts, Gifts Ideas, Make My Week by makeitgiveit Okay so just checking have you entered the giveaway on my blog […]

  7. I have used this tutorial: http://fromanigloo.blogspot.com/2010/04/going-fishin.html, but slightly modified it, to make lots of fishing sets to give as gifts, and they are always a big hit. Also crayon/pencil rolls are fairly easy to make and good for any age. If you do scrapbooking/ papercraft, making some kind of mini album for a child to put their own photos/momentos/journalling in could be an idea for an older child. I made one for my 3.5 year old to put stickers in, instead of sticking them all over the house, and she thinks it is really neat and often asks us to “read” it to her (make up a story from the stickers on each page).

  8. Love the soft toys and cupcakes – I’ll give the soft toys to the boys, so that I can put my feet up to enjoy the cupcakes and a hot chocolate 😉

  9. I was just thinking the other day about this for your ideas…for a 5 year old starting school a personalised fabric reading and or library folder would be cool and very useful. Also a personalised draw string tote for swimming.

    our school is heading towards being litter free with lunches and I have seen soem cool handmade lunch bags around too

  10. You’re so awesome! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read a single thing like this before. So wonderful to discover somebody with a few unique thoughts on this subject. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

