The Best Friday

Easter has begun. I have made more hot crossed buns from this lovely blog. I added a little bit of honey to my crosses as well.

Good Friday the worst possible day, the most amazing day.

Today I’m including some quotes from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S.Lewis. Part of the Narnia books these books are a series I read every couple of years. I love them.

Have you forgotten the Deep Magic?” asked the Witch.

“Let us say I have forgotten it,” answered Aslan gravely. “Tell us of this Deep Magic.”

“Tell you?” said the Witch, her voice growing suddenly shriller. “Tell you what is written on that very Table of Stone which stands beside us? Tell you what is written in letters deep as a spear is long on the fire-stones on the Secret Hill? Tell you what is engraved on the scepter of the Emperor-Beyond-the-Sea? You at least know the Magic which the Emperor put into Narnia at the very beginning. You know that every traitor belongs to me as my lawful prey and that for every treachery I have a right to kill…. And so that human creature is mine. His life is forfeit to me. His blood is my property… unless I have blood as the Law says all Narnia will be overturned and perish in fire and water.”

“It is very true,” said Aslan, “I do not deny it.”

Then later in the same book after the killing of Aslan:

At that moment they heard from behind them a loud noise—a great cracking, deafening noise as if a giant had broken a giant’s plate…. The Stone Table was broken into two pieces by a great crack that ran down it from end to end; and there was no Aslan.

“Who’s done it?” cried Susan. “What does it mean? Is it more magic?”

“Yes!” said a great voice from behind their backs. “It is more magic.” They looked round. There, shining in the sunrise, larger than they had seen him before, shaking his mane (for it had apparently grown again) stood Aslan himself.

“Oh, Aslan!” cried both the children, staring up at him, almost as much frightened as they were glad….

“But what does it all mean?” asked Susan when they were somewhat calmer.

“It means,” said Aslan, “that though the Witch knew the Deep Magic, there is a magic deeper still which she did not know. Her knowledge goes back only to the dawn of time. But if she could have looked a little further back, into the stillness and the darkness before Time dawned, she would have read there a different incantation. She would have known that when a willing victim who had committed no treachery was killed in a traitor’s stead, the Table would crack and Death itself would start working backward.”

5 responses

  1. Lovely post – C S Lewis tells great stories with meaning behind them : )

  2. *sigh* I ran out of flour this morning when making pancakes – I now need to wait until tomorrow when my groceries are delivered . . .
    However, I have supported two Canterbury online stores this week ::)) – Do you know if there is a list anywhere of Canterbury online stores?

  3. Yum, yours look great. Thanks for linking to my recipe! Honey sounds like a delicious addition, too. 😀

  4. Great looking buns. Wonderful quote. Happy Good Friday. x

  5. Yeah – love your title. Not just a Good Friday but the BEST Friday. Thanks for the link to the recipe too. Hope you and the family have a truly blessed Easter xx

Leave a Reply

