Make My Week #18 Giraffes Are Go

My delightful cousin is due to have a baby in July and she comissioned me to make some toys for the safari-themed nursery.

She’d seen some of my previous giraffes and liked them so I was asked to make a mama and baby giraffe in greens and reds.

Of course last time I made them I made up the pattern and this time I made up a new pattern.

I do quite like them and they actually stand up by themselves but I always loose my confidence a bit when I make something for someone else.

I like being comissioned to do things because I don’t think I have it in me to produce on mass to sell at markets etc – the creative A.D.D in me can’t produce too many of the same thing. But then with a comission someone isn’t picking up something they like and buying it they are trusting you to make something they like – it feels scary!

She assures me she loves them.

The grandma-to-be also comissioned me to make something but I’m not sharing that until it has been delivered to its final owner. Very important not to spoil the surprise.

4 responses

  1. I love these giraffes!

  2. Great post thanks for sharing. You have an excellent layout here. I enjoy making crafts with some of my closest friends. Friends and family alike can enjoy doing crafts together.

  3. i love these, you are so clever!!

Leave a Reply

