Make My Week #21 Baby Mat/Quilt

This is my first ‘whole cloth/ applique’ style quilt.

I made it for my sister’s 30th birthday. In the hopes I will have niece or nephew one day to play on it.

I used a thicker batting than I normally would.

The tree trunk and branches are hand sewn and then free-motion embroidered with the sewing machine. The sun/moon has hand stitching around it as does the tree.

I’ve called it ‘A Bird Called Hope’. It was a good way for me to start. I’d like to do some more picture quilts.

5 responses

  1. It’s gorgeous Miriam absolutely gorgeous and I love the fabrics you’ve chosen!
    You will have to teach me how to free motion quilt as my wallet keeps getting lighter and lighter as I pay for professional quilting

  2. Looks really lovely in the photos as you can really appreciate the ‘big picture’ as it were. Well done!

  3. Clever clogs!

  4. […] Make My Week #21 Baby Mat/Quilt « MakeItGiveIt – Let it Shine The sun/moon has hand stitching around it as does the tree. I've called it 'A Bird Called Hope' It was a good way for me to start. I'd like to do some more picture quilts. from → Baby Gifts, Make My Week Quilts […]

  5. It is beautiful moo-moo. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

