A Stash Dress

I decided I’d like a maxi dress – you know the ones. Full length, easy care, ‘I forgot to shave my legs and I’m dying of heat and I need something nicer than my board-shorts to wear’ wardrobe option for summer.

Problem is most maxi dresses have spaghetti straps, a halter neck, or no straps which is not the preferred option of someone who also requires well constructed underwear as part of their armoury!

Recently Nin gave me some fabric from a clear out she was having (I know because I need more fabric, right!) and I decided to make a dress from a piece I got from her. Trouble is there wasn’t enough so I grabbed some red from my stash, added a band and tie, lengthened the pattern (they are all designed for people 5’5”), ditched the zip and went for launch.

Pretty pleased with the final result. I love this colour and I think it’ll be a good one for summer when I need to pull out a maxi!

You can find other creative inspiring people doing ‘show and tell’ over at Our Creative Spaces.

9 responses

  1. Oh I did have a wee giggle over “requires well constructed underwear as part of their armoury” – I hear you !! !! !!
    And I’ve always wondered if one is vertically challenged ie: 5ft NOTHING is a maxi dress for them?
    LOVING your dress

  2. Clever girl. You look lovely.

  3. I recognise that from Nin’s stash. Well done you, it looks amazing!
    (Just a little bit jealous that you can wear a maxi dress without it making you look 2 feet tall and 10 feet wide!)

  4. Great fabric – and it all fits so well. I LOVE the back of it with the red top piece. FAN-TAS-TIC!

  5. That looks great, you pulled the look off really well 🙂

  6. Lovely. Modest. Comfortable. Practical. Stylish. What more could you want?

  7. That is so pretty! But not frou-frou, i LOVE it! The red back just adds something to it, clever clever you!

Leave a Reply

