B.M.W.B #1

HAPPY BIRTHDAY My Atlas – just quietly I think you’re hot!!

This is ‘week one’ and I have consciously tried to say ‘yes’ instead of ‘wait’, ‘not at the moment’, or ‘another day’.

Flip and I did a code cracker together (until I got stuck). Good practice for writing his letters in small squares.

I said ‘yes’ and sat without doing anything else (washing, baking, dinner, folding…) and watched a wonderful dance performance

to Hi 5 (out from the library)

I played football outside instead of leaving it to Daddy and suggesting a story instead (yes I am an inside-y kind of mama)

And we did our first art project – the magic of water-colour pencils. Our theme was what we are looking forward to in 2012.

Bounce drew ‘the school near kindy’

and Flip ‘ the camp ground in Dunedin’

and I did the butterflies at the museum in Dunedin. (we are looking forward to our holiday!)

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

10 responses

  1. Well done super-mum. Glad the pencils are getting a workout – I’m missing all those creative supplies I took for granted, but also enjoying living with less. So cute seeing a certain young man’s new watch too!

  2. Well done you xxx
    It is so hard (well for me) to sit and do nothing –
    I’m always multi tasking .. .. ..
    Even when watching tv at night I’m either blogging or knitting or crocheting

  3. How adorable! I love their pictures! Little people have the ultimate imagination, I think its sad that we lose it as we grow older

  4. Keep it up. Memories and attention last forever. Folded washing isn’t remembered long!

  5. Love this idea Miriam
    as my oldest is weeks away from 18 I feel the end of our season together near….makes me grateful for the moments I was more mindful…
    there never can be enough of those

    Love and Light

  6. that dance show looks so awesome! i have been trying to organise dinner earlier in the day when claud is in a mood to help, and then later in the day when she’s less bidable we have a cuddle up and read. its hard changing my routine, and noodles are not so good reheated, but those things aside, my girl is happier, and that makes me happier. keep up the good work x

  7. I asked my girls what they wanted to do on the last day before returning to school. They said a trip to the cinema (it’s rainy and very windy today) and I promise I will watch the film with them rather than take my book (I’ve been known to!) and I have thrown in a trip to the pizza place for lunch afterwards. Not exactly taxing but it’s what they want to do and I know we will all have the best time and probably feel a bit sad this evening as the holidays draw to a close. Looks like you guys are having a fab time. xx

  8. woo hoo! you are inspiring indeed! I look forward to following your journey this year x x x

  9. Great work mama, you’re inspiring me too 🙂

  10. This is a wonderful project you’ve taken on! I’d like to be a better Mama too, but right now I don’t even spend much quantity time with my kids since I’ve taken up a 40hrs/week working schedule again.
    That should not be an excuse though!

Leave a Reply

