B.M.W.B #4 Keeping Pace

We spent the last 2 weeks on holiday with the boys so they have been getting a lot more quality time than usual, as Mama and Papa have relaxed and not been distracted by screens and jobs and tiredness and and and….

One of the things I really focussed on was ‘keeping pace’. We did a few little walks and I felt the gentle pull in my heart and reminder to walk with not a few steps behind or in front of my boys.

I naturally hurry. I hate to be late. I like to be early – this doesn’t always translate to being really present in enjoying the wonder of the world through a 5 and 3 year-old’s eyes. I don’t want my boys to look back at their childhoods feeling like they were always being hurried places.

Wee Bounce often walks at a 3-year-old pace – distracted by something here and something there. You know, enjoying the journey rather than racing to the destination.

And so on our walks I slowed down, I breathed, I listened to him chatting and I kept pace. And that is the kind of mama I want to be.  I want to hold this reminder in my heart and to wander the journey with my boys rather than rush them from one destination to another.

What have you been doing with your little ones this week?

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

Simple. Achievable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be

7 responses

  1. “I naturally hurry. I hate to be late. I like to be early – this doesn’t always translate to being really present” – I think Alex knows someone who walks like this too! I’m trying to slow down – trying… Good for you.

  2. Beautiful post and photographs. Toddler pace is eye opening at times and wonderful – but at other times can be a little frustrating. Finding the balance isn’t always easy – but I love the way you’ve written about this 🙂

  3. I’m always hurrying because I’m late! Haha finding that middle ground hmmmm
    My second ever blog post was about this very thing. Of course I don’t keep my posts organised with one of those label thingiees, just isnt my style 😉 but if I dig it up later I’ll link it for ya!

  4. Twice lately we have gone to our Botanical Gardens and done just that – let Button lead the way and the pace (most of the time anyway *grin*)! It means we haven’t got around as much of it as we usually do, but we head there so often that it doesn’t really matter; and she had a ball!

  5. oooo ouch… i am going to try and walk WITH my kids now too… thank you x x x

  6. I love this post so much Miriam…it’s a nice reminder to slow down and really take the time to notice the little things that our young ones see and do. I am guilty of always rushing here and there and in the process rushing our children.

  7. Ohhh I love this post. Children see so much at their pace and level that we fast adults miss. Just today I took my 3 treasures to the Hamilton Gardens for a Colour Treasure Hunt to help teach Mr 2 his colours. I gave each of my boys a colour card and they had to find things that matched the colour on the card. So much fun, discovering, laughing, and slow walking at snail pace!

Leave a Reply

