B.M.W.B #5 Telling Our Stories

As it is cheap stationery season (and I do love a cheap exercise book) I thought I’d share this next.

While we were on holiday I recorded some of the boys stories in books for them. A half-page half-writing style for Bounce and full-page for Flip. Initially it was to keep Flip reading on holiday to keep his confidence up (I can write stories with a good sense of which words he will be able to read and they are tricky to find at the library). However, it has also created a wonderful opportunity to record the things we do.

So I am going to keep going with these books – once a week or fortnight I want to write a snippet of something we’ve done together. It takes such a short time and reading them together is so precious. I write/ they write then they illustrate and we share the story together.

What have you enjoyed with your little ones this week?

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

Simple. Achievable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be.

8 responses

  1. what an awesome idea!!! something great to do together, to read and to treasure 🙂

  2. NICE ONE!

    love and light

  3. Sounds like your on the road to home schooling 😉

    you are a great Mama Miriam! Love your intentionality 🙂

  4. Great idea. Lala and I had a go at decoupage yesterday on an old box which she has decided will be a birdie box. As we were decoupaging we talked about colours and shapes and what was on the pictures (ripped from old mags). I love slow burn projects like this because we will move on to what to birds like inside the box, what sort of birds might nest in the box, etc.

  5. This is such a lovely idea Miriam, not only does it create quality time together…they are memories that can be looked at and read for years 🙂
    xx

  6. Illustrations are delightful! An emerging strength!

  7. Have you found the Intro Readers section at the library? They have a good cross sections of books in there for the different levels, the Elephant and Piggie ones are firm favourites in this house

  8. I know I’ve been a bit rubbish at commenting on these posts, but I just wanted to say that I am really enjoying them. They regularly make me stop and think when I am about to fob my kids off with another “not now”, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

