B.M.W.B #6 Floating and Sinking

Often (well more often than I like!) the boys ask for water play – or they just go make a mess of the bathroom sink!

And so I said yes but I was intentional about it. We did floating and sinking.

I sent them to find small things. Then we took turns picking ones for our own piles before we dropped them in the water we made a guess (which we correctly called a hypothesis – maybe I am becoming a home-schooler Sophie!!) and then we tested our theory.

By the end of it even wee Bounce ‘got’ the concept of floating or sinking. I didn’t take the theory any further, mainly because I don’t do science and I’m not even totally sure why things float or sink!! Don’t bother to try to explain I’m infuriatingly happy in my scientific ignorance!!!

After our special focussed time I let them go for it. And then I gave them a towel to clean up the water, which they did. They are sweet, sweet boys.

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

Thanks for all those who have left me encouragement about this – my most important project of all – and for those who  tell me what they are getting up to. I appreciate it.

Simple. Achievable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be.

7 responses

  1. So lovely! I have an expression for when someone tries to explain something to me that I am happier not knowing: “I’m having enough trouble with this lamp”. It’s from the film The Age of Innocence and really sums up that feeling. If you’ve seen it, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

  2. That looks like fun! Will have to do that with my boys. We went camping in our back yard- so much fun!

  3. What a great idea! I can’t wait ’til Tiny is old enough to do this with (at the moment, water play is all about maximum splashing).

    And I am totally with you in being infuriatingly happy with my own scientific ignorance (my husband is an engineer…geeky science stuff is going to be his domain!) 🙂

  4. They actually look pretty dry : ) So true about being a mum & just giving things a go!

    Nice running into you guys in the library the other day & though I cant make the valentines day gathering, I would love to have come along… just may have my hands full with someone really little : )

  5. What fun! I suspect my two would be a lot more soggy after doing that!
    I joined in this week! Thanks for being such an inspiration.

  6. Great idea – Lydia has just started getting into waterplay in the past week or two… and I’m like you when it comes to science ;-)!

Leave a Reply

