B.M.W.B #7 – Salt Resist

A day early this week. (Valentines Day tomorrow folks – last chance to enter my giveaway)

Another ‘art’ project. From one of my wee books.

The aim is to paint with food colouring (which I watered down) and then sprinkle salt over the finished product which makes interesting shapes and designs as it absorbs some of the colour around it. When finished you simply brush the salt off.

The Atlas took Flip and the neighbours to crazy mini-golf on Saturday (for over 5s only) so Bounce and I had a gorgeous milkshake date. He rode there on his balance bike, after our photo shoot!

When we got there, instead of going to the play area he chose a ‘real’ table and we chatted away. I asked him about favourites – ‘colour, car, game, person…’ (until he got sick of waiting for me to finish my drink and we retired to the play area).

Bounce also said to me the other day, ‘Why do penguins have wings?’ (He knows they can’t fly). I waited and said, ‘Why do you think they have wings?’

His reply, ‘So they can pick up snow’.

What have you been doing with your littlies this week?

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

Simple. Achieveable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be.

9 responses

  1. This would be a fab activity to share with Tsunami – she loves painting

  2. These posts always make me a little teary – I miss these wee boys!

    1. they miss you too! Some one was talking about the big truck and the little dog they got from Aunty N and Uncle A today!

  3. Fun! The boys are growing up so fast.

  4. Great idea about wings!

  5. That painting looks like fun!
    We’re joining in again this week. Rascal’s been sewing up a storm!
    http://craftandnappies.blogspot.co.nz/2012/02/sewing-with-preschooler-bmwb.html

  6. …to pick up snow! awww too cute. we’ve been on holiday and really for the first time we’ve started to ask claud what she wants to do, and then go do it instead of us choosing the entertainment all the time. it’s been interesting…it was all park park park but then she started to vary it; park, piggyback, park, piggyback!

  7. I had an enjoyable 30 minutes sitting on my 17 year old daughters bedroom floor while she straightened my hair and we chatted about the boys at school! Taking those little moments to just hang – and I love it that my 14, 17 and 20 year old all love to sit with a cup of tea in the lounge and chat!

Leave a Reply

