B.M.W.B #10 ‘Love You, Love You’

This week I invented a new song with Bounce I sing ‘Love You, Love You and now I’m going to…..‘ and fill in the gap (tickle your tummy, stroke your hair, pat your back, touch your nose…)

He adores it. He is a boy who loves touch and words so this activity suits him perfectly.

My other B.M.W.B thing at the moment is to say yes to reading a story in the classroom to Flip before we go in the mornings. I have no other urgent thing to get to and he loves it….. along with the others.

Now I sit on a bean bag in the middle of the mat and I end up with 3-8 little people sitting there too. Books are so magic and so special and I adore how much they engage with little people.

Although it’s easy to hurry past it in the busyness of life there is something so bonding about slowing down, ignoring the phone and cherishing a book together. In reality it probably only takes 5 minutes of your day but I would challenge you to find a more therapeutic 5 minutes to share with your wee one.

And sharing childhood favourites together? Seeing them light up with same joy you had?? Priceless.

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other.

Simple. Achievable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be.

What is your favourite book to read together?

5 responses

  1. This weeks favourite is “The Digging-est Dog” and most weeks its the same book/s every night- “Lion in the Meadow” or “Little yellow digger” or Richard Scarry’s busy town books and Hairy Maclary series. Its so fun reading to them and nice to have our own great books as well as using the library every fortnight and now Master B has started school its so nice to hear him read to me!

  2. Love the glasses.

  3. Cute song!
    Tiny loves reading, and his enthusiasm for books is so infectious that even my reluctant-reader husband looks forward to storytime. I love to read anything to him, but my favourites include “Commotion in the Ocean” and “My Cat Likes to Hide in Boxes”, because he gets so involved with them, and knows the words.
    Flip and the other kids are so lucky that you read to them all 🙂

  4. I’m picturing you sitting and reading to all those children before class – lovely! Its amazing how kids will gravitate to people who take the time to pay attention to them and spend time with them. Thanks so much for your beautiful comment on the blog this morning.

  5. your are such a cool mum for your little dudes – well done : )

Leave a Reply

