B.M.W.B #18 Learning

Although I’d like to think of myself as a ‘naturally gifted parent with no help needed’ part of becoming the mama I want to be is intentionally becoming more skillful and thoughtful in how I parent.

 

Last night The Atlas and I started a 6 week ‘Parents Inc’ toolbox course. All my life I’ve held to the fact that I would rather learn from others mistakes than make them myself. This supports that theory for me – learn and take courses before things are tricky.

 

The fun part is that we are hosting so I have the perfect excuse to make recipes I wouldn’t normally. Last night it was Cherry Ripe Mudcake – mmmmmm – narrowly missed eating leftovers for breakfast!

and Flip and I made these little treats as well  – happy to do a how to post if you want one!

I want my boys to feel they have a contribution to make in terms of making people feel valued and welcome in our home and baking is one of those things.

 

We are a family that LOVES having people over and this is no exception and it means my house gets vacuumed at least once in the week!

How do you feel about having people at your place?

 

This year I am making more of a conscious effort to have quality moments with my boys. B.M.W.B (becoming the mama I want to be)  is my way of recording and hopefully inspiring other mama’s too. Please inspire me with the little moments you are snatching with your little people OR with ideas I could do with mine. If you have blogged about it please leave a comment so we can all visit and encourage each other. Thank you so much for those of you who have given me really encouraging feedback recently!

 

Simple. Achievable. Intentional: becoming the mama I want to be

7 responses

  1. That course is great – we did it last year! My boys love having people visit and love to bake so they can share it with others…who knows we could have chefs in the making 😀

  2. Sounds like a great course – ambulance at the top of the cliff, and all that! I don’t like cherry flavoured things (but love cherries!) but that cake looks sooo good, as do the little cake pops (??). Definitely keen for a ‘how to’ on those babies! As for having people round to our house – I love it. I like to feed people and welcome them into our space; I find it’s good for the soul.
    Have I mentioned that I’m loving this series?? You rock xx

  3. I HATE people coming over to my house at the mo as it is such a mess. Only true friends that know me are ok…..lol

  4. Wow cake looks amazing, as do the cake pops. Cherry Ripe is a wee favourite in our house! The course sounds amazing – I am doing the Incredible Years Parenting course at the moment and its fantastic – can’t recommend it enough and its totally changed my whole approach to parenting. Enjoy your course – your boys are so lucky to have such amazing parents xx

  5. Dianne Barnden | Reply

    I love your blog and I am a Montessori Teacher so really appreciate you family philosophy. But please could you share you recipe for that cake…cherry rip mud cake, I don;t think I can live another day without it.
    I am grateful for people like you who through blogs give me such a lift on a daily basis and contribute so much to my wellbeing and also you get me thinking about things that normally I would take for granted.
    thank you so much DIanne

    1. thanks for your lovely comment. I tried to email you the recipe but the email address you entered was incorrect in some way… if you email me I will email it through. makeitgiveit(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂 Miriam

  6. Hi Miriam, you are an amazing mum! I’d love your recipe for the cake and the caramel chews you made for the parenting course session 3 – please!!!

Leave a Reply

