Wardrobe Wednesday and Make My Week #25 – My Jesus Dress

My sister saw this fabric in a market in Amsterdam.

She told me about it.

She sent me some with a note saying ‘You’re the only person in the world who could rock this fabric.’

 

Maybe she is a little generous but Hello??’ I ❤ Jesus with gold shiny Holy Spirit Doves’?? Yes Please!

I used a pattern that was an off-cast from one of my mama’s friends.

 

Without the belt I look a bit like I am 7 months pregnant or how I still look 5 months after giving birth.

I love this fabric – I often think about making clothes that say stuff about the real ‘who I am’ more than just the ‘I love clothes and dressing up’ part of who I am.

 

I do love Jesus, very much. He is the source of who I really am and who I am becoming. At 34 I’m at that happy stage of my life where I feel entirely at home with this and I don’t feel like I need to make excuses or try to convince people that loving Jesus doesn’t make me weird, or crazy or deluded or brainless. Point is I find meaning and joy in this sometimes difficult-to-explain relationship and I’m happy to wear that on a black chiffon, 80s-esque printed dress with pink stilettos (even if I did slip over in the ice in them!).

 

outfit breakdown:

Dress – made by me, fabric from Amsterdam

Tights – cosmic

pink stilettos – TKMaxx – UK

Cardi – hand-me-down from a cousin

 

 

What do your clothes say about you and your values?

Joining in here

Wardrobe Wednesday at SailorSpy.co.nz

Read More:

Clothes I have made

Make my week craftings

Inspiration

6 responses

  1. I knew you could pull it off, fabulous!!

  2. I LOVE IT!! and you totally pull it off!! OUCH bout the slip in the ice tho!!

  3. You go girl :-)!

  4. As if there isn’t more fabric like this :p

  5. I have never seen a cooler fabric!!! Looks totally fab!

Leave a Reply

