Make My Week # 28 Baby Quilt

The Atlas has a work colleague about to leave to have a baby and so I asked if I could make something special. Bless him he even let me show him some stuff I liked on my quilts pinterest page and I have another board of quilt loveliness here too.

The quilt is made from pieces all from my stash and inspired by lots of different pictures I like. It is free motion quilted. I actually hand basted each piece on and then basted the whole thing before I started which took an evening but was well worth it in the long run.

I added the border as an after thought and I love it. I was going to have the Suffolk puff blossoms all over the ground under the tree but the crafters I had over in the planning stage recommended them on the tree and I think it’s a better choice.

I backed it in super soft brushed cotton. I have included a putting it together collage because I quite like the sense of development. I am pretty random in my approach – cut and place and hope for the best.

I’m pretty pleased with the results and I think The Atlas was too.

It always amazes me how irresistible a quilt (even a half-finished one) is to lie on and play on and we don’t even have a cat! The boys just couldn’t keep themselves off it.

I need some inspiration for a winter craft project that I can take on holiday and do by hand – I don’t crochet and my knitting is pretty atrocious…. ideas???

Find more creative inspiration here

Here are some of the things I’ve been making this year.

10 responses

  1. It’s gorgeous!

    1. thank you. always a bit scary making for someone else

  2. It’s beautiful!
    Have you tried cross stitch? So easy to take anywhere, and I find it really relaxing.

    1. yeah I’m coming to the idea of stitching up some kind of storm

  3. Lovely work Miriam – I remember seeing it when I was round for the craft night…Yes I agree some cross stitch or surface stitchery – how about some christmas decorations so that you are all prepared. I have kept up a tradition my mum started and make one for each of my children each year – that way they leave home with a tree full!!

    1. I make them for mine too but they are rather amateur – I’m sure yours wouldn’t be

  4. LOVE this quilt
    Well I’m quite partial to crochet now I’ve semi mastered it
    BUT what about fa la la felt? Making little felt ornaments . . .

    1. Good thinking I haven’t played with felt for ages!

  5. what about soft toys? When hand stitched requires going round each limb twice – and I’m sure the boys would love!

  6. What a gorgeous quilt! You never cease to impress me with your skills Miriam!

Leave a Reply

