In Which I Speak of Christmas

As you know this year I have wanted to stretch and grow myself as a mama and although I am a great believer that really we don’t need a lot of fancy stuff I also really want to know about decent ideas/books/games…. that people (real people not plastic people with fake smiles and children who they just met that day on set!) have actually tried.

I am one of those mama’s that doesn’t really buy my kids a lot of stuff – frequently we get them quite small gifts for birthdays and Christmases….however, I do tend to part with money more easily when it comes to books and games. As I see it both of these are the gifts that go on giving – they can be shared and re-shared year after year.

I also know that in the pre-school years I have been a little lost sometimes and really keen to know about worthwhile stuff especially books around the right level and games they can actually play and understand.

So, coming up to Christmas I thought I might do some preschooler recommendations for games and books and anything else that comes to mind in case you might find it worthwhile too. (I find it isn’t long before I have grandparents and aunts and uncles asking for recommendations and I love having something in mind).

Please note this is my idea it is not a series of sponsored posts (not to say I’d mind being sent wonderful quality products to try – are you listening toy and book companies???) it’s just one mama who is passionate about helping other mama’s and families find fun things to share together that aren’t iPhone apps, DVDs, TV programmes or computer games. (Not that these are bad there are just probably lots of great places to find those recommendations – and I am not that place).

First up for the ‘my recommendations’ would be My First Guess Who. The original Guess Who is a fantastic game for developing language however for littlies it’s too confusing -which card do they put down, what questions to ask….

My First Guess Who is easier than the traditional game this one uses plastic faces which you add to as you ask each question. If your child doesn’t have the vocab yet they can hold up the piece they want to ask about. As the game progresses you each build a face and then at the end the whole ‘board’ flips around so you can check they are the same.

Bounce and I have laughed and laughed playing this game together. Flip was given it for a birthday a couple of years ago and it has certainly been worth it for us. Each game doesn’t take very long either so you can play a quick one or have a few rounds.

Definitely one I think would suit children from 3 up and possibly younger depending on their vocab and concentration etc.

I made a clear plastic pouch that closes with velcro for ours because it has small parts! Games with small parts do my head in!! But this does seem to keep it all in order.

Are you keen for more recommendations from our cupboards?

What game gets the most use in your house?

Do you find it hard to find great games for your pre-schoolers?

5 responses

  1. Both kiddies absolutely love the book “You are special” by Max Lucado. It’s a wonderful book that teaches about not accepting labels from people and only listening to God and what He says about you. Recommend that one anytime!

    1. I love that book too we have another one of his for kids too – so lovely.

  2. This is going on my list for Tiny! I’m always keen for ideas from other mums, as sometimes it can be a bit daunting trying to think of something, so keep ’em coming!!
    I always buy books, and will always ask for books for my boys. Plastic holds their attention for a moment in time, but books hold their imagination for ever.

    1. oh so true – my imagination is rich with stories!

  3. […] Games for Pre-Schoolers : What’s in the BoxReducing Separation Anxiety in PreschoolersIn Which I Speak of Christmas […]

Leave a Reply

