Make My Week #42 and October Giveaway

Okay so remember I promised a giveaway every month this year? – you forgot? Well, never fear I absolutely did not!

Anyway first things first is this weeks creation – a while ago I saw this gorgeous embroidery on pinterest and so last week I sprung from there and made myself a rather much larger version with smaller houses…. weird huh?

Here is the original:

Source: flickr.com via Miriam on Pinterest

Here is mine:

I just freestyled it – looked at the picture once and then went for it with no clear plan. I am very pleased with the results though.

I love this. And if you look very closely you’ll see there are some little lighted windows along the street.This was inspired from these bible verses – (I also happen to like the song this little light of mine more than most).

14 “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house.16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.

However since I’ve made it I also am reminded of the following lines

I seen the little light‘ from Catherine Mansfield’s short story The Dolls House

and also ‘some windows are lighted but mostly they’re dark‘ from Oh The Places You’ll Go by Dr Seuss.

I’d like to try one on black fabric with white stitching next. Does anyone else have a thing for houses? I love little houses. The fabric in my header appealed for that very reason.

Anyway on to the giveaway….this month you get to choose between the cameo ring, the cameo brooch or a wee pencil brooch. All made by me and I’ll either send you the original or make a new one for you.

Leave me a comment and let me know which you would pick. Or just leave a nice comment about my wee houses and say if you’re not entering – I won’t be offended.

Open internationally – let’s share the love people. Closing at the end of the month or when I tire of reminding people to enter. (I’m a little unpredictable like that!!)

because I might be flying away to a romantic rendezvous with The Atlas today I won’t be responding to comments until next week but don’t let that stop you ….

Joining in with a team of inspiring makers at Our Creative Spaces – button on the right.

For other stuff I’ve made recently

Other stuff I’d like to make on pinterest.

11 responses

  1. Wow….everything here is just super duper cool. I love your houses and the quotes that go with them…so apt.

    I’d love to win the cameo brooch 🙂

    1. Thank you – I do like little houses a lot

  2. I SO love your wee houses and the symbolism behind them! Now I want to try it! 🙂 And I love the wee pencil brooch, too . . . how clever is that! So glad I found your blog! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much – you should have a go it’s not tricky you just need to dive right in there

  3. Love the little houses, very cool, and so clever.

    The cameo brooch is my favourite 🙂

    Enjoy your romantic getaway with your husband (I’m so jealous!!!) – is this the Melbourne trip?! If so, HAVE FUN!!!
    xx

    1. yup this is THE Melbourne trip. I’m so excited!

  4. Your wee houses look very neat and cute, also they make me feel happy.
    I like them very much. I would like to choose cameo brooch.
    Thank you for sharing your blog.

    1. Thanks for your lovely encouragement

  5. Just discovered your lovely blog through Naomi.
    Your embroidered houses are so sweet. I need to get started on making some of my many pinterest crafts.
    Love both the cameo and pencil jewellery pieces. My favourite would be the cameo ring.
    x

    1. yes it is so tricky to get a board full of inspiration and no actual stuff happening from it! :o)

  6. Oh me oh my I love this embroidery !!!!

Leave a Reply

