Make My Week #43 – New Look 6000

I bought this pattern a while ago because I loved the pleated part so much but it takes a heap of fabric and I haven’t quite managed to get around to that view.

But the other day I picked up some fabric reduced to $6m and with another 30% off and so for $7.40 or something crazy I bought this cotton drill and made the plain version with the short sleeves. I love this fabric so much. It’s very William Morris I think.

Often when I am sewing I lengthen the hem only to find I have way too much length at the end so this time I cut it exactly and oh me, I literally overlocked and turned. This pattern is short!

The sleeves have a cute pleat detail on top (that is very hard to self-photograph!!) and I used an exposed zip. I quite like using hard looking exposed zips on super feminine clothes just to give them some spunk. (The Atlas told me I had spunk – personality wise – last night! He is so awesome.)

I graded the pattern from a 12 in the body to a 14 at the top to make some room for my ‘Taranaki Shoulders’.

This is the second dress I have made this month – the other one is here. I’m wearing the dress with the camper boots The Atlas bought me when we were in Milan before we had kids and a mortgage!

To see what other creative people are up to click on the button on the right.

For other clothes I’ve made

For all my creative endeavours lately.

Clothes I’m wearing on pinterest

There are lots of people who have made this New Look 6000 pattern google it for more incarnations.

13 responses

  1. I love your dress. I’ve used this pattern a number of times but always made the pleated version so it is good to see how well the plain one turned out. I agree the pattern is short, I always add on a few inches as I got caught out the first time!

    1. Yes thankfully this is a length I like but there was no room for turning it up!

  2. Lovely dress. Very good shape. Well done. x

    1. Thanks I like the shape too

  3. I love the dress and the fabric. I also like the Make my Week idea. I know some bloggers have a Make My Day. There is just no way I can make something in a day unless I’m by myself for an entire 24 hours, which never happens. But make something in a week? Now, I can manage that! Great post!

    1. thanks for your encouragement – the nice thing is you have 52 projects to look back on at the end of the year

      1. Yes, and that can be a fun way to build a wardrobe. I got to get started!

  4. I LOVE this dress and well those boots WOW WOW WOW I love them!

    1. yeah the boots are pretty rad I have had SO much wear out of them

  5. Your dress is so lovely! Every time I see this pattern made up, I love it more. Why haven’t I purchased it yet? No idea.

    1. it’s certainly a very simple make that is for sure

  6. WOW! your are so clever…! And I get to MEET YOU on Sat night- I am BEYOND excited!!!!!!!!!

    1. whoo hooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

