November Giveaway

Before November disappears entirely I want to make good on my monthly giveaway promise. I have so enjoyed doing these monthly giveaways. I recognise that generosity does not come naturally to me and so I have loved creating intentional opportunities (even if they are small!) to make it a habit.

Every December 1st I give my boys a book about Christmas so that over time we will gather up a large stash of them to read together during December on our lead up to Christmas. A while ago a friend recommended this book to me, I subsequently found a copy second-hand and then I found another one on TradeMe and because I liked it so much I bought the second one so I could give one away!

This book is about a little boy who lives in a caravan park and wants to enter the competition that the council is running for people to decorate their houses for Christmas. Being of meagre means he uses what he has and waits with great anticipation for the judges to come and visit his house (and they don’t)…. what could be such a sad story is in fact a beautiful and uplifting tale. I won’t spoil the ending but I think this is a story anyone could love and enjoy.

It’s also a New Zealand book which makes me very happy. There are so many great children’s books and I’m always thrilled to find New Zealand ones to add to the collection.

Currently it is unavailable on Fishpond, Book Depository, Trade Me and Amazon doesn’t appear to have it at all – so this could be your big chance!! :o)

If you would like to enter to win a second-hand (I know people have mixed feelings about 2nd hand and that’s okay just want you to know so you are informed!!) copy of this book, leave me a comment. Tell me a children’s book you love or a Christmas tradition you have.

I’ll draw the winner on Nov 25th so hopefully I have time to get it to your family before Dec 1st so you can read it during the Christmas build up too.

Because I love the journeys and friendships blogging creates if you want to enter and you follow my blog (any old way) then remind me in your comment and I will enter you twice.

Have a wonderful day

Miriam x

11 responses

  1. looks like a lovely story- we have the same tradition of giving a new Christmas book every year 🙂

  2. I always like the traditional christmas story, we have a new Grand-daughter and have just brought her, her first christmas book. This would be lovely to add

  3. Squee please enter me – I LOVE Christmas books I LOVE Christmas I LOVE made/written in NZ and I LOVE the fact you sent me happy mail during the week (THANK YOU xxx)

  4. Oooooh, I’d love to win a copy of this for my boys! This is the first year that Tiny has really understood what’s happening, so we’ll be starting something for our little family tradition this Christmas; we’re just awaiting the arrival of our Elf on a Shelf!

  5. P.S: I follow your blog, and I stalk your ideas on Pinterest 🙂

  6. I will visit my family and have Christmas dinner together.

  7. I love the idea of a Christmas book every year and started that last year with The Night Before Christmas for my now 2.5 year old. I have always wanted a nice reusable personalised advent calender so I am now obsessively looking on Pinterest and various internet sites trying to decide what to make and then need to make it……before Dec 1 (nothing like a bit of pressure to keen you motivated) but that will be my new tradition for my family.
    I also have your blog leaping into my google reader and follow you on Pinterest

  8. I love Peepo by Janet and Allan Ahlberg, such a sweet wee book.

  9. Oooh yes please enter me….this sounds like a great book! We quite like Slinky Malinki’s Christmas Crackers by Lynley Dodd 🙂

  10. Count me in too please. Favourite book as a child: Dogger. (which incidentally is one of Mr V’s favourites as a child too). Christmas traditions: OK this is a Dutch one. The children all receive an old rugby sock stocking on Christmas Eve which always includes a fresh orange (other treats in this family are chocolates, a second hand book and perhaps one or two other goodies….you can fit a lot in a rugby sock). And if you want to enter me twice…I do follow your blog, by checking in on the days where I can.

Leave a Reply

