Make My Week #48 – Advent Calendars

This year I wanted to make the boys an advent calendar to store the special advent activities we have planned, which are a surprise to them.

This coming weekend we are also having a special early celebrations with some other families and each family brings a $10 gift for another family. So I made a second version as our gift.

The trees are made from felt with gold thread couched onto them (my first attempt at couching) and 24 buttons sewn on. I made our one first out of the lighter coloured felt and a random selection of buttons but I like my second effort better!

Then I made 24 little felt Xs with holes in the middle of them so each day a little decoration is added to the tree.

For the other family I added chocolates to each mesh pocket. Ours have numbered cards with the activity written on the other side of the number.

They are a bit random but I rather like them and I think the boys will like it.

On Tuesday I’ll go through some of our advent activities but if you want a list to do something similar leave a comment and I’ll email you our list.

 

Joining in with Our Creative Spaces – button and link on the right.

How’s your Christmas making coming along??

8 responses

  1. Cute. But I’m going to need to see them in person to understand how they work. Brain is tired!

    1. yeah and I’m not the best at explaining!

  2. Awesome!! The boys will love it!!

    1. thanks and for all your inspiration!

  3. Waaaaa trying not to think about it too hard – its my silly season for work too
    But I am ever so much looking forward to Saturday and starting ADVENT squeeeee

    1. and my year seems to be coming nicely to a sort-of slower pace!

Leave a Reply

