Make My Week #50 – My Birthday Suit!

I’m counting this as my December dress even though technically I made it before December.

This is what I wore to my birthday. I invited some of the gorgeous women in my life over. What better way to celebrate a birthday than to celebrate the women that make my life such a pleasure. I made high tea, of sorts, and we all sat and word bombed each other.

I made this pattern from a vintage pattern – one from the early sixties and there are no pattern markings on the tissue. So you need to read the instructions to know these 3 holes mean on the fold or this marking means grainline etc. The original didn’t have the puffy over skirt but I felt the fabric called for it.

I made the under garment in calico and the over part is a net curtain I picked up at a church fair for $3. I love the wee raised daisies and the subtle lemony colour. 2 people stopped me in the supermarket to comment on it so I consider that a success!!

I wore it with my self-made necklace, self-made earrings, thrifted beads and shoes from Melbourne. One of the mums from schools aid to me ‘you look very dressed up’ and I aid yeah but I bet my whole outfit is much cheaper than yours. Dress – pattern free, calico $15, net $3. Shoes $20. Necklace about $20 because I did it in a class, earrings – free, beads – 50c Total Outfit= $58.50 (I’m thriftier than Gok!)

Did you enter my giveaway? I keep adding wee things to it. :o)

So this year I challenged myself to make a new piece of clothing each month – here is a breakdown of the clothes I have made this year.

There were a couple of months I seemed to forget but other months I did a few extra so currently it stands at 16 makes and I do have at least 2 more I hope to make in the next 2 weeks!!

I’d love to know your favourite.

I’ve so enjoyed making something a piece of clothing each month – it’s got me thinking about challenges for next year! (and how much I pose with my hands on my hips!!)

Joining in with our creative spaces.

14 responses

  1. Definitely the turquoise and yellow maxi and not just because I helped come up with the idea. I just like it!

    1. I adore it too I’m so glad I asked you what to do with it 🙂

  2. I’m new here, and you have a great blog! Amazing all that you sew. I like the December dress. It’s classic and I love the material. It looks really well made too.

    1. thank you so much it is lovely to have you here 🙂

  3. My favourite is it ‘wrap’ dress that you made from different fabrics, I love that idea.

    1. Thanks I do love the concept too

  4. This dress is bee-yoo-tee-ful (both the dress itself and how it looks on you!). Awesome effort on all the creations this year – loved the wee collage looking back over them all xx

    1. it was lots of fun to do actually and see what I had achieved

  5. Oooh lovely! I think that one is my favourite, though the others are gorgeous too! Clever you! I think I should challenge myself to do something along these lines next year…

    1. I have so enjoyed it – I love to have a creative challenge each year

  6. So many favourites but I def love this one and the bottom row 2nd from the right – I think that dress would kinda suit me

    1. yeah I think it would too – I didn’t do a great job of it but it is super comfy!

  7. Lovely birthday suit. My favourites over the year are the green dress with red boots, and the pink floral one out of designer fabric (was it Trelise cooper?) The green jacket with lps/ufos on it also v. cool. Well done you.

    1. thanks I love the wee shift too the fabric is so great. I need to wear that jacket more

Leave a Reply

